Topher’s Top 10: Films of 2022

Christopher Bigelow
7 min readJan 17, 2023
A collage of movie posters
Posters property of their respective studios.

According to my Letterboxd stats, I saw fifty-six movies in 2022, the most in one year since I was in high school and the most in movie theaters in a single year ever. I’ve already sung the praises of AMC A-List. I won’t rant about it again, but we just celebrated our first anniversary together, and I couldn’t be happier.

As always, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. If you disagree with me, let me hear about it in the comments.

Here are my top ten favorite movies of 2022:

10. The Black Phone

Poster for the film The Black Phone, featuring Ethan Hawke wearing a mask

dir: Scott Derrickson; starring Ethan Hawke, Mason Thames

Based on a short story by Joe Hill, it comes as no surprise that this psychological-but-occult thriller is compelling and frightening. Hill is Stephen King’s son, and he takes up the mantle of the genre his father revolutionized with skill. The film touches on one of the most primal fears of humans, being kidnapped. Ethan Hawke’s performance is haunting and manages to stand out amid a plenty of fresh horror films this year.

9. Turning Red

--

--

Christopher Bigelow

Queer Storyteller and Educator. I write about fiction and nonfiction in all forms. 🏳️‍⚧️🏳️‍🌈 christopherbigelow.substack.com